Kazakhstan hosts C5+1 high-level discussion between US, Central Asia states


NUR-SULTAN (TCA) — The Governments of the United States, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan met in Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan, on August 21 in the C5+1 format to discuss political, economic, and security issues of common concern.

Under Secretary for Political Affairs David Hale for the United States, Kazakhstani Foreign Minister Beibut Atamkulov, Kyrgyz Foreign Minister Chingiz Aidarbekov, Tajik Foreign Minister Sirojiddin Muhriddin, Turkmen Foreign Minister Rashid Meredov, and Uzbek Foreign Minister Abdulaziz Kamilov exchanged views on efforts to strengthen support for economic transformation and regional cooperation, to address regional security challenges, and promote peace and prosperity in Central Asia and neighboring Afghanistan, according to a joint statement released by the Governments of the above countries.

The participants reaffirmed their support for the C5+1 engagement platform as a valuable forum for jointly discussing and addressing common challenges and for strengthening the sovereignty, independence, and territorial integrity of Central Asian states. The group reviewed planning for the next Ministerial meeting of the C5+1 and noted ongoing engagements in the C5+1’s Security, Economic Connectivity, and Environment Working Groups, the statement said.

The C5+1 format was established in November 2015 to address common security and environmental challenges, improve regional trade flows, and enhance prospects for U.S. trade and investment with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Sergey Kwan