Kyrgyzstan and Iran to set up joint investment council


BISHKEK (TCA) — Kyrgyzstan and Iran signed memorandums of understanding (MoUs) during last Saturday’s meeting in Bishkek of the joint commission for economic, scientific, technical and cultural cooperation.

The MoUs were signed during the visit of Iranian Minister of Roads and Urban Development Abbas Akhoundi and his talks with Kyrgyz Minister of Transportation and Communication Zamirbek Aydarov, Iran’s official IRNA news agency reported.

The MoUs call for the formation of a joint investment council, energy and economic cooperation, agriculture, scientific and technological exchanges.

The Iranian minister also met with Kyrgyz President Almazbek Atambayev and a number of high-raking officials during his trip to Bishkek.

Last year, the Kyrgyz president paid a visit to Tehran where he met with his Iranian counterpart Hassan Rouhani.

Iranian and Kyrgyz officials held talks on cooperation in different sectors, including the construction of a new railway track connecting Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and China.

Iranian President Rouhani paid an official visit to Kyrgyzstan in September 2013 to attend the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) summit. On the sidelines of the summit, he held talks with his Kyrgyz counterpart, Iran’s PressTV reported.

Kyrgyzstan, China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan are the six permanent members of the SCO. Iran, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Belarus and Mongolia have observer status in the organization.

The Kyrgyz leader has thrown his country’s weight behind Iran’s permanent membership in the SCO.

Sergey Kwan