New Prime Minister appointed in Kyrgyzstan


BISHKEK (TCA) — Kyrgyzstan’s President Sooronbai Jeenbekov has signed a decree appointing Mukhammedkaly Abylgaziev the Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan, the president’s press service said.

Earlier today, at an extraordinary meeting, the Kyrgyz Parliament elected Abylgaziev the new Prime Minister.

The lawmakers also approved the composition and structure of the Government and the program of the new head of the cabinet of ministers.

Abylgaziev, 50, has been the chief of the President’s Office since 16 March 2018.

On April 19, the Government of Prime Minister Sapar Isakov resigned after the Parliament passed a no-confidence motion against Isakov and his cabinet.

The vote, which passed with 105 votes out of 120, was initiated by a group of opposition lawmakers, in what was seen as another sign of tension between President Jeenbekov, who was sworn in in November, and his predecessor, Almazbek Atambayev.

Atambayev kept a low profile for several months after leaving office in November 2017, but he has publicly criticized Jeenbekov on several occasions following his election as head of the ruling Social Democratic Party on March 31.

Isakov, 39, is a close ally of Atambayev and took over the Kyrgyz Government in August.

Earlier this month, President Jeenbekov dismissed Abdil Segizbaev, the chief of the State Committee for National Security, and Prosecutor-General Indira Joldubaeva, who were also Atambayev’s appointees.

Atambayev, who now chairs the Social Democratic Party, the leader of a ruling parliamentary coalition, had backed Jeenbekov in the presidential election but started criticizing him this month in a sign of a rift between the two.

Sergey Kwan