Uzbekistan simplifies visa regime for tourists from February 10

TASHKENT (TCA) — Uzbekistan President Shavkat Mirziyoyev on February 3 signed the Decree on additional measures for creating favorable conditions for development of tourism potential of Uzbekistan, the Jahon information agency reported.

The Decree introduces a visa-free regime for 30 days for citizens of Israel, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Turkey, and Japan, as well as for crew members of foreign airlines that carry out regular flights to Uzbekistan.

In addition, a list of 39 countries was approved, including countries of the European Union, East Asia and the Middle East, as well as India, Canada, New Zealand, and the USA, whose citizens will enjoy a simplified procedure of registration of tourist visas starting from February 10, 2018. Uzbek embassies will now issue visas after two days.

Late last year, as part of the Program of priority measures for the development of tourism in 2018-2019, President Mirziyoyev signed a decree introducing new visas allowing foreigners to stay in the country for 30 days.

The presidential decree introduced a single tourist visa for individual foreign citizens granted for a period of 30 days.

According to the decree, the cost of a tourist visa for individuals was cut from $60 to $40. Before the decree, tourist visas were given for one week or 15 days only.

The decree also cut the number of people in tourist groups visiting Uzbekistan from 10 to five persons. Visa cost for a member of such tourist groups is $15 for 15 days and $25 for 30 days.


Times of Central Asia