Kazakhstan planning 72-hour visa-free regime for Indian citizens

ASTANA (TCA) — Kazakhstan is currently working on the issue of introducing a 72-hour visa-free transit for citizens of India, Kazakh Minister of Culture and Sports Arystanbek Mukhamediuly told a briefing on January 25, the official website of the Prime Minister of Kazakhstan reported.

The minister drew attention to the fact that today India is rapidly developing economically and is one of the leaders in outbound tourism. “If Kazakhstan becomes a transit hub between India and other countries, then, of course, the economic situation in Kazakhstan will move for the better,” the minister said.

For the first time during the Expo-2017 in Astana last summer, Kazakhstan introduced a 72-hour visa-free transit for citizens of China on flights by Kazakhstan airlines through international airports of Astana and Almaty to third countries.

The project showed its effectiveness and safety. During three months of Expo-2017, more than 4.5 thousand citizens of China visited Kazakhstan, leaving in the economy of the country from $250 to $300 each. This regime was extended until the end of 2018.

Kazakhstan provides a 90-day visa-free regime for citizens of Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia, and Ukraine, and 30 days for citizens of Argentina, Azerbaijan, Serbia, the Republic of Korea, Tajikistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan.

In 2014, Kazakhstan launched a program to provide a 15-day visa-free regime to citizens from countries that more than others invested in the economy of Kazakhstan. These countries are Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands, the USA, France and Japan. In 2015, the number of countries participating in the program increased to 19, including Australia, Belgium, Hungary, Spain, Monaco, Norway, the United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland and Finland.

From 1 January 2017, citizens of the EU and OECD countries, Malaysia, Monaco, the United Arab Emirates, and Singapore can come to Kazakhstan for up to 30 days without a visa.


Times of Central Asia