Russia’s Chelyabinsk to host BRICS and SCO summits in 2020


BISHKEK (TCA) — The Russian city of Chelyabinsk has been chosen as the venue for the meeting of the Council of Heads of SCO member states and the meeting of BRICS leaders in 2020 in accordance with a Decree ‘On the Organizing Committee for Preparing and Securing the Chairmanship of the Russian Federation in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization in 2019–2020 and in the BRICS Union in 2020’ signed by President Vladimir Putin.

“Since 2015, the Chelyabinsk Region administration has been systematically preparing for hosting the SCO and BRICS summits,” Governor Boris Dubrovsky reported. He stressed that resolution of infrastructure problems related, among other things, to preparing the hotel accommodation would be ensured with the help of private investment.

Earlier, the government of the Chelyabinsk Region approved the roadmap for construction of facilities for the SCO and BRICS summits.

The Decree names the Roscongress Foundation as the sole contractor for procurement of services by the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation with regard to preparing and securing the chairmanship of the Russian Federation in SCO and BRICS.

Russia has already hosted such combined summits. For instance, in 2015, the SCO and BRICS summits were held in Ufa and, in 2009, in Ekaterinburg. The SCO summit took place in St. Petersburg in 2002 and in Moscow in 2003 and 1997.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is an international organization whose member states include Russia, India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. SCO observer states currently include Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia.

BRICS is an intergovernmental association of the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Russian Federation, the Republic of India, the People’s Republic of China, and (since December 2010) the Republic of South Africa. Russia initiated the establishment of the association in 2006.

Sergey Kwan