Iran Cancels Visa Requirement for Citizens of Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

Iran has lifted visa requirements for visitors from 33 countries, including Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Russia, in an attempt to attract visitors from across the globe and boost its sanctions-hit economy, Iranian news agencies report.

Iranian Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts, Ezzatollah Zarghami, said the cancellation of the visa requirements was approved in a government meeting last week. “The government intends to open the country’s doors to the world,” Zarghami told reporters after a cabinet meeting on December 13th.

According to the Ministry of Tourism of Iran, the number of foreign visitors in Iran reached 4.4 million during the first eight months of the current Iranian year, which ends in March 2024, representing a 50%increase compared to the same period last year.

The ministry expects six million foreign tourists to visit the country by the end of the year.