China supports Iran’s membership of SCO


BISHKEK (TCA) — A senior Chinese diplomat has thrown his country’s weight behind Iran’s membership of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) which unites China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan, Iran’s PressTV news agency reported.

“China welcomes and supports Iran’s wish to become a formal member of the SCO,” Assistant Chinese Foreign Minister Li Huilai told reporters on June 5, ahead of the group’s summit in the Kazakh capital of Astana this week.

Chinese President Xi Jinping is going to pay a state visit to Kazakhstan to attend the 17th meeting of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization Council of Heads of State and the opening ceremony of the World Expo in Astana from June 7 to 10, Xinhua reported.

The Chinese diplomat added that Iran currently has an observer status in the organization and has for a long time “proactively participated” in its activities and has made positive contributions to the SCO’s development.

“China highly appraises this. I think that at this meeting all sides will continue to conscientiously study the issue of Iran becoming a member on the basis of the SCO’s relevant rules and consensus through consultations,” the Chinese diplomat said.

China has close economic and diplomatic relations with Iran and played an instrumental role in pushing through the landmark 2015 nuclear agreement, known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA).

Although Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov had supported Iran’s full-fledged SCO membership, the body last year failed to initiate the accession process for Iran which expected to make it into the group after the implementation of the JCPOA and the lifting of sanctions.

Li further noted that Pakistan and India would also formally join the SCO as members at the Astana summit, saying that the organization is becoming more attractive among others and its influence continues to increase.

“More and more countries have said they hope to become dialogue partners, observers or formal members of the SCO. China welcomes countries who want to and who meet the conditions to apply to become members, observers or dialogue partners,” he added.

The SCO was formed in 2001 in Shanghai by the leaders of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan to curb extremism in the region and enhance border security.

The SCO has six observer states — Iran, Afghanistan, Belarus, India, Mongolia and Pakistan. It has six dialogue partners, including Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka.

Sergey Kwan