Kazakhstan: International observers accredited for snap presidential election

NUR-SULTAN (TCA) — The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan has assisted the Central Election Commission (CEC) with the accreditation of foreign observers, international organizations and foreign journalists for an early presidential election in Kazakhstan to be held on June 9, 2019, the ministry said.

As of May 12, as proposed by the Foreign Ministry, the CEC had accredited 45 observers. Seven members are accredited as part of the CIS observation mission, 22 members from the CIS Inter-parliamentary Assembly, 12 members from the election observer mission of the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE/ODIHR) and four observers from the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

The registration procedure for presidential candidates was completed ahead of schedule.

Seven candidates were registered for the president of Kazakhstan:

1. Interim President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev was nominated by the Nur Otan Party;
2. Sadi-Bek Tugel was nominated by the Uly Dala Kyrandary republican movement;
3. Amangeldy Taspikhov was nominated by the Federation of Trade Unions of Kazakhstan;
4. Daniya Yespayeva was nominated by the Ak Zhol Kazakhstan Democratic Party;
5. Toleutai Rakhimbekov was nominated by the Auyl Social Democratic Party;
6. Zhambyl Akhmetbekov was nominated by the Communist People’s Party of Kazakhstan;
7. Amirzhan Kossanov was nominated by the Ult Tagdyry national patriotic movement.

The next stage is the pre-election campaign, which includes publicity campaigning through the media, holding public pre-election activities, as well as the production and distribution of paper-based, multimedia and other campaign materials.

Voting will be held on June 9 from 7.00 am to 8.00 pm local time. Votes will be counted at polling stations no later than 12 hours after the end of voting. The results of vote counting by administrative and territorial units will be determined in the territorial commission sessions and will be delivered to the CEC within two days (no later than June 11).

The time limit for determining and publishing vote results and registering the elected president of the country by the CEC is seven days from the date of voting.


Times of Central Asia